Entry Exit System - new EU border control system

In the fall of 2024, a new entry and exit system will be introduced for all non-EU nationals travelling to or from the Schengen area for short stays.

The new system is called the Entry Exit System (EES) and will be implemented by all countries in the Schengen area at the same time.

In addition to showing their passports and any other required permits, the travellers must provide a facial photo and fingerprints when crossing the external borders of the Schengen area. This information is recorded in a personal file along with the time and place of entry or exit.

The Entry Exit System replaces the current manual passport stamping process.

Nationals of EU and Schengen area are not covered by the Entry Exit System.

Safer borders

The Entry Exit System aims to make it easier to identify travellers attempting to enter or exit the Schengen area with false identities or passports, as well as those who have overstayed the duration of their authorized stay in the Schengen area. The system will also contribute to the prevention, detection and investigation of terrorist offenses and of other serious criminal offences.

Processing of personal data

The processing of personal data is carried out in accordance with applicable legislation. The information recorded in the traveller's personal file is normally deleted after three years. More information about the processing of personal data in the Entry Exit System will be provided before the system is in operation.

Countries in the Schengen area

The Entry Exit System will be implemented simultaneously in all countries in the Schengen area. On our page  Third country nationals, you can read about which countries are part of the Schengen area.

Start date not yet determined

The Entry Exit System has not yet entered into operation. The planned start is fall 2024, pending a decision from the EU.

Read more about the Entry Exit System on the EU official website. The information can be translated into the EU's 24 official languages.